TBD May 10-17, 2020!

ENROLLMENT will open in late Summer; check back to join us for any of our seminars and readings and events through our purchase page.

FROM 2019:

The 6th Annual Longleaf Writers Conference Featured:

Visiting Authors Rebecca Makkai and Brian Turner

Workshop faculty: Matt Bondurant (Fiction), Wendy Rawlings (Fiction), Ann Fisher-Wirth (Poetry), Seth Brady Tucker (Poetry), and Diane Roberts (Creative Non-Fiction)

Literary agents and special guests: Sarah Bedingfield and Melissa Flashman, including our fellows Gabriel Houck, Kara van de Graaf, Barrett Warner, our Baker veteran scholar Juanita Kirton, and our Ole Miss scholars Stephen Hundley and Kate Leland.

The Longleaf Writers Conference includes a full week of intensive and generative writing workshops, one-day seminars, agent consultations, school outreach programs, and special social events. The conference, which takes place in Seaside, Florida (some might recognize Seaside, as the set for the movie The Truman Show with Jim Carrey), provides an opportunity for all levels of writers to celebrate writing, to network, and to hone their craft in a beautiful setting among generous and celebrated writers and poets. Other components of the conference are the Scholars and Fellows Program, including the Celia Baker Veteran Scholarship, as well as local outreach programs for youth at local public schools.

Past writers and academic attendees have used our educational and publishing opportunities to justify and apply professional development/travel funds from their schools and universities. Past attendees have been signed by agents at LWC and we are proud to have seen books, articles, essays, and other creative writing published widely by these friends in the past years. Our past visitors have included Beth Ann Fennelly, Tom Franklin, Andre Dubus III, Jacqueline Mitchard, Elizabeth Stuckey-French, Chris Offutt, Mark Winegardner, Jennifer Percy, Anton DiSclafini, Antonya Nelson, David James Poissant, Rebecca Makkai, and many more writers,  agents, and editors.

Andre Dubus III

Enrollees who pay full tuition with or without housing benefit from all workshops, seminars, readings, beach bonfire parties, readings, and social events. Attendees will have their own work critiqued and improved through a 5-day intensive workshop and will enjoy daily activities, including seminars, receptions, and dinners.

Jacqueline Mitchard at our first conference!

And of course let’s not forget the world-class beach; if you like white sand and clear water, this is the conference for you. We have chairs and umbrellas on the beach for your use and we encourage plenty of creative loafing. This is a casual, laid-back conference, flip-flops and salty hair, naps on the sand and cocktails for the glorious nightly sunsets.

Sunset happens nightly!

Those participants who want to evade the hassle of finding their own housing can enroll with lodging.  Enrollment Deadline with housing is April 20th.

Our A La Carte options for local and regional writers is available on our registration page. Please feel free to write us directly with any questions or problems with the site.